Youth Fishing Challenge - Saturday, June 5, 2021

Typography
  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

The Hooked on Fishing-Not on Drugs Program's Youth Fishing Challenge is a free statewide event to promote fishing among youths and their families. In 2021 it will be held on the first of the state's two Free Fishing Days, Saturday, June 5, when no license is required to fish regardless of age.

Registered youth participants may be eligible to receive prizes for the fish they catch during the event. Youth must be present at the end of the event to be awarded prizes.

Questions regarding participation or hosting an event can be directed to hofnod@dep.nj.gov.

Group Registration Closed April 15.

This event is sponsored by NJDEP Division of Fish & Wildlife's Hooked on Fishing-Not on Drugs Program.

YOUTH FISHING CHALLENGE RULES
The following rules apply to all events:

  1. Registration is required and FREE - see information below for the location you'd like to attend.
    Note: Each hosting organization/location may have its own rules or "need to know" information.
  2. The event is open to all ages - no license or trout stamp is required on New Jersey's Free Fishing Days. The entire family is encouraged to join the fun!
  3. Participating youths aged 20 and under are eligible to receive event giveaways and prizes.
    Note: Youths will receive a scorecard the day of the event and must turn in their completed scorecards to receive free giveaways and prizes.
  4. PARTICIPANTS MUST BE PRESENT AT THE CLOSE OF THE EVENT TO RECEIVE A PRIZE!

YOUTH FISHING CHALLENGE EVENTS

Contact the sponsor of the event for registration information.

Atlantic County
Egg Harbor Twp. Recreation Alliance
Egg Harbor Township Nature Reserve
314 Zion Rd.
Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234
Directions
Dena Danz - ddanz@ehtrec.com
609-272-8120
www.ehtrec.com

Bergen County
Old Tappan Municipal Alliance & Environmental Commission
Bonnabel Nature Park
Old Tappan Rd.
Old Tappan, NJ 07675
Directions
Anna Haverilla - haverilla@oldtappan.net
201-664-1849 ext.12
Pre-register Online

Burlington
Burlington HOFNOD
Vincentown Millpond
Southampton Twp, NJ 08088
Directions
Vic Gorin - vgorin@creativemachining.com
609-468-6106
Facebook: HOFNOD Burlington

Boy Scout Troop 76B and Girl Scout Troop 76G and Cub Pack 176
Laurel Acres Park
1045 S Church St.
Mt Laurel Township, NJ 08054
Directions
Bob Kuserk - rkuserk@comcast.net
856-305-2995

Willingboro Recreation & Parks
Millcreek Park Pond
300 Bev Rancocas Rd.
Willingboro, NJ 08046
Directions
Kendall Brunson - recreationinfo@willingboronj.gov
609-877-2200
www.willingbororec.com

Camden County
Lindenwold Police Department
Lake Worth
Lindenwold, NJ 08021
Directions
Patrolman Dustin Dilger - ddilger@lindenwoldpd.com
856-784-7566
www.lindenwoldnj.gov

Cape May County
4H Cape May County
Ponderlodge, Cox Hall Wildlife Area
2978 Bybrook Dr.
Villas, NJ 08251
Directions
Allen Stokes - alsjoy@verizon.net
609-463-5957

Belleplain State Forest
Nature Center at Lake Nummy
Woodbine, NJ 08270
Directions Kathleen Meyer - Kathleen.Meyer@dep.nj.gov
609-861-2404
www.njparksandforests.org/parks/belle.html

Essex County
Bloomfield Police Department
Clarks Pond
60 Huck Rd.
Bloomfield, NJ 07003
Directions
Jonathan Donker - jdonker@bloomfieldnjpd.com
973-680-4100
www.bloomfieldpd.com

Hudson County
Hackensack Riverkeeper
Laurel Hill County Park
Laurel Hill Rd.
Seacaucus, NJ 07094
Directions
www.HackensackRiverkeeper.org

Mercer County
Hightstown Engine Co. No. 1
Peddie Lake
140 N. Main St.
Hightstown, NJ 08520
Directions
Neal Glackin - glackinneal@gmail.com
609-306-9026

Middlesex County
Borough of South River - Parks & Recreation
Grekoski Park
Whitehead Ave.
South River, NJ 08882
Directions
Lakisha Thomas - lthomas@southrivernj.org
732-254-4412
www.southrivernj.org

South Edison Community Association
Lake Papaianni
Linden Ave.
Edison, NJ 08817
Directions
Anthony Russomanno - arussom819@aol.com
732-261-7172
www.southedisoncommunityassociation.com

Township of East Brunswick
Dallenbach Lake
Durhams Corner Rd.
East Brunswick, NJ 08816
Directions
Rick Perrine - rick.perrine@eastbrunswick.org
732-390-6797
www.eastbrunswick.org/249/Recreation-Parks

Monmouth County
Howell Twp.
Alfred C. Sauer Park at Echo Lake
1205 Maxim Southard Rd.
Howell Township, NJ 07731
Directions
Steven Fecher - sfecher@twp.howell.nj.us
732-938-4500 ext.2106

Leonardo State Marina
102 Concord Ave.
Highlands, NJ 07732
Directions
Maggie Mitchell - Maggie.Mitchell@dep.nj.gov
732-291-1333

Neptune Recreation
Hamilton Fire Co. Pond
10 Jumping Brook Rd.
Neptune, NJ 07753
Directions
Jason Ross - jross@neptunetownship.org
732-869-1202
neptunetownship.org/departments/recreation

West Long Branch Recreation Committee
Franklin Lake
Lakeview Ave.
West Long Branch, NJ 07764
Directions
Jerry Natale - LTTLZKE@comcast.net
732-693-9462

Morris County
Jefferson Township Police Department
Morris County Fishing Education Pond
Weldon Rd.
Lake Hopatcong, NJ 07849
Directions
Ryan McGowan - rmcgowan@jeffersonpolice.com
973-697-1300 ext. 86155
www.jeffersonpolice.com

Ocean County
Ocean County Parks
Lake Shenandoah Park
Route 88 (Ocean Ave.)
Lakewood, NJ 08701
Directions
Chris Claus - cclaus@co.ocean.nj.us
732-506-5122
www.oceancountyparks.org

Passaic County
Haledon Municipal Alliance & Haledon Police Department
Oldham Pond
High Mountain Rd. & Leonard St.
North Haledon, NJ 07508
Directions
Sgt. Jessica Funes - jfunes@haledonpd.org
973-790-4444

Shady Lake Park
Weaver Rd.
West Milford, NJ 07480
Directions
Wyatt Walker - shadylakenj@gmail.com
201-304-1702
www.shadylake.weebly.com

Salem County
The Inn at Salem Country Club
Oakwood Beach
91 Country Club Rd.
Salem, NJ 08079
Directions
Jim Grant - JimGrant423@gmail.com
609-420-8290
www.SalemCountryClubNJ.com

Sussex County
Friends of New Jersey School Of Conservation
Lake Wapalanne
1 Wapalanne Rd.
Sandyston, NJ 07826
Directions
Shayne Russell - info@friendsofnjsoc.org
Registration

Patriots Path Council Boy Scouts of America
Mt. Allamuchy Scout Reservation
750 Waterloo Rd.
Stanhope, NJ 07874
Directions
Richard Peterson - Richard.Peterson@scouting.org
973-765-9322 ext. 227

Lake Stockholm CC and CA
Lake Stockholm
Hardyston, NJ 07460
Directions
John Coyne - jcoyne@covanta.com or trustee4@lakestockholm.com
973-479-2803
www.lakestockholm.com

Union County
Boy Scout Troop 523
Lake Surprise
WR Tracy Drive
Watchung Reservation
Mountainside, NJ
Directions
Nuno Ferreira - nferreira@kvlav.com
908-868-7819
https://sites.google.com/site/troop523colonia/home

City of Plainfield, Division of Parks and Recreation
Cedar Brook Lake at Cedar Brook Park
Plainfield, NJ 07060
Directions
Veronica Taylor - veronica.taylor@plainfieldnj.gov
908-753-3096
https://plainfieldnj.gov

Streets2Streams
Rahway River Park, Lakeside Picnic Area
St. Georges Ave.
Rahway, NJ 07065
Directions
Daniel Richardson - streets2streams@gmail.com

Participants at Hoffman's Crossing
Participants at Linden event
Participants at Lacey Twp. event
Turtle covered in algae
Winners at Cheesquake SP event
Father and daughter at Merrill Creek Reservoir event
Lacey Twp. event
Sunfish
 

New Jersey's Hooked on Fishing-Not on Drugs Program


 

Never miss News & Events:
Submit News, Tips and Events: editor@mylakenews.com

Comments powered by CComment