Wed, Apr

Roxbury School Board Recognized as Master Board Members

Landing \ Roxbury News
  • Smaller Small Medium Big Bigger
  • Default Helvetica Segoe Georgia Times

At a recent meeting of the Morris County School Boards Association, the Roxbury Township Board of Education was presented with a plaque of recognition of the board earning recertification as a Master Board.

Board President Leo Coakley was also recognized as a Master Board Member. The Roxbury Board of Education is one of four in the county recognized for recertification as a Master Board.

New Jersey School Boards Association offers a variety of certification programs for board members throughout the state who wish to take their training to a higher level. Master Board Member status (MBM) is awarded to members who have participated in further education. Candidates must have completed and achieved requirements for Certificated Board Member (CBM) before embarking on the requirements to be awarded Master Board Member status.

The NJSBA website states, “Master Board Member (MBM) is the third level of certification and builds on the Certified Board Member (CBM) status. Programs are designed to enhance interpersonal and leadership skills enabling members to better govern their schools. To receive the MBM, members must have earned a CBM and 20 additional credits. Board members must meet all of the MBM requirements.

MBM core areas include sustainability/STEAM, advocacy, communications, labor relations, finance, leadership, governance, student achievement, legal/policy, district savings, and technology.

MBM requirements include having earned a cumulative total of forty credits, attended academy programs in seven different core areas, attended at least eight county meetings, attended at least two delegate assemblies, attended at least two annual NJSBA workshops, attended at least one full-day statewide program, man not have been judged to have violated the School Ethics Act, and pass an examination covering core areas of board responsibilities.

PHOTO ABOVE (courtesy of the Roxbury Township Public Schools)

- MCSBA Recognition Picture (pictured left to right): Roxbury Board Member Ron Lucas, NJSBA VP for County Activities Dan Sinclair, Morris County SBA President Karen Cortellino, Roxbury Board President Leo Coakley, and Roxbury Board Member Rich Alexander.

Comments powered by CComment

Join us on Facebook

Upcoming Events