Jefferson Fire Prevention Bureau
The Fire Prevention Bureau’s responsibility is to enforce the New Jersey Uniform Fire Safety Code. This code is designed to protect the public from fire safety hazards in commercial businesses.
COMMERCIAL BUSINESS SERVICES:
The Fire Prevention Bureau’s responsibility is to enforce the New Jersey Uniform Fire Safety Code. This code is designed to protect the public from fire safety hazards in commercial businesses. The Bureau does inspections of businesses once the Building Department issues a Certificate of Occupancy. The most obvious things the Fire Prevention Bureau would be known for include: making sure EXIT lights and Emergency lighting work; EXIT doors work and lead to a safe area; fire extinguishers are charged and ready for use; and that there are no hazards that could cause or contribute to the spread of fire. This list does not include all of the items an inspector checks during an inspection. The Bureau is also responsible for registering businesses with the State or Town (depending on the type of business classification), and investigates complaints of potential fire hazards in commercial businesses.
Residential property owners most often contact the Bureau to schedule a Smoke Detector, Carbon Monoxide Detector and Fire Extinguisher Certification inspection of their home at time of resale or change of tenant on a rental property. This is not the inspection done to get a Certificate of Occupancy during construction. Inspections are done by appointment only by calling the Bureau. The requirements for certification are listed below.
REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTIFICATION:
- A smoke detector on each level of the home, one within ten feet of all bedrooms.
- A carbon monoxide detector within ten feet of all bedrooms.
- Unit must be UL-2034
- Electric units must be installed in hallway; NOT in outlet of one bedroom, even though it may still be within 10 feet of other bedroom(s).
- A house number on the house that is visible from the road.
- House numbers must be a minimum of 3 inches high.
- Numbers on mailboxes are NOT acceptable; this is postal property.
- At least one portable fire extinguisher within ten feet of the kitchen.*
- The extinguisher shall be listed, labeled, charged, and operable;
- The size shall be no smaller than 2A:10B:C, rated for residential use and weigh no more than 10 lbs.;
- The hangers or brackets supplied by the manufacturer must be used;
- The top of the extinguisher must not be more than 5 feet above the floor;
- The extinguisher must be visible and in a readily accessible location, free from being blocked by furniture, storage or other items;
- The extinguisher must be near a room exit or travel path that provides an escape route to the exterior;
- The extinguisher must be accompanied by an owner’s manual or written information regarding the operation, inspection, and maintenance of the extinguisher; and
- The extinguisher must be installed with the operating instructions clearly visible.
- Certificates are good for six months from issue date.
- If replacement of detector(s) is necessary, DO NOT replace an interconnect detector with a battery operated unit; replace like with like.
- If a detector is located on the same level as your heating unit, place the detector AT LEAST 10 feet away from the unit.
- New fire extinguishers are not required to be serviced and tagged, as long as the seller or agent can provide proof of purchase or receipt.
*The Legislature recently amended and enacted P.L.1991, c. 92 (C.52:27D-198.1), requiring that all one- and two-family dwellings at a change of occupancy be provided with a portable fire extinguisher, in addition to the requirements for smoke and carbon monoxide detectors. This provision does not apply to seasonal rental units. This law went into effect on November 1, 2005.
The fees below are per inspection visit, including re-inspections. The Certificate of Smoke Detector and Carbon Monoxide Alarm Compliance (CSDCMAC) as required by N.J.A.C. 5:70-2.3 for residential dwellings at time of resale, regardless if owner occupied or registered as a rental property, based upon the amount of time remaining before the change of occupant/inspection date is expected, as follows:
- Requests for a CSDCMAC received more than 10 business days prior to the change of occupant: $40.00 per inspection.
- Requests for CSDCMAC received four to 10 business days prior to the change of occupant: $75.00 per inspection.
- Requests for a CSDCMAC received fewer than four business days prior to the change of occupant: $125.00 per inspection.
Inspections are done by appointment only on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays, between the hours of 10 a.m. and 4 p.m. If you have any questions or would like to schedule an appointment, please contact our office at 973-208-9400.
Because Jefferson Township is a recreational community, campfire permits are available. The Bureau issues permits after the NJ Forest Fire Service has approved the permit request. The phone numbers for the local Forest Fire Wardens can be obtained by contacting the Fire Bureau.
The Bureau also works with the Township Volunteer Fire Companies, schools, and other community groups concerning fire safety education.
Remember – ALWAYS report all emergencies to 911.
Vinny Corsaro, Fire Marshal
Billy Donnerstag, Fire Inspector
James Jacoby Sr., Fire Inspector
Kevin McCarthy, Fire Inspector
Stephanie McCormack, Secretary
Some of the listing features are available only for registered users.
Please login to view all listing details!
Please login to view all listing details!